Hong Kong tightens quarantine requirements for 16 countries

On 16 August 2021, the Hong Kong government announced that it will be increasing the quarantine requirements for passengers arriving from 16 countries, due to recent COVID-19 developments. These new requirements will take effect from 20 August 2021.

The following 15 countries will be moved from Group B (medium risk) to Group A (high risk): Bangladesh, Cambodia, France, Greece, Iran, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United States.

Additionally, Australia will be moved from Group C (low risk) to Group B (medium risk).

For our members returning to Hong Kong from Belgium or Luxembourg: if you transit in the Netherlands, France, the United Kingdom, or any other Group A territory, the total time you spend there must be less than 2 hours. Otherwise, you will be categorised as a traveller originating from there.

To view the relevant boarding and quarantine requirements if you are travelling to Hong Kong from any other of the 16 countries, please click here to visit the official website.